Collegium Magistrorum

The chamber orchestra Collegium Magistrorum has been active part of the life of the Elementary Music School in Mikulov since 2002. The orchestra comprises teachers and pupils of the music school, students of Brno Conservatory and musicians from Mikulov and surroundings.

Sample imageThe orchestra is direct successor of a similar ensemble conducted in 1960s and 1970s by the headmaster of the then Popular Art and Music School Josef Košulič. The orchestra is the living continuation of the rich music tradition of Mikulov, dating back to Baroque, when under the reign of Cardinal Franz Dietrichstein there were music ensembles administered y the Piarist grammar school or the College Chapter of St. Venceslas´ Church.

The repertory of the orchestra covers all periods from Baroque to the present. In addition to featuring traditional chamber music compositions the orchestra also performs works by Jewish composers, with the focus on opening the exhibition season in the local synagogue in cooperation with the Regional Museum in Mikulov. The repertory of the orchestra has recently been extended with the so called high popular, which considerably increases the range of events where the orchestra can perform and is wanted.

The specific style of performance, repertory and mobility of the orchestra allows COLLEGIUM MAGISTRORUM to offer concert as well as representative performance. The ensemble has successfully performed not only in Mikulov and surroundings, but also in Slovakia and Austria.

The conductor and artistic director of the orchestra is MgA. Karel Bohůn.

Selected repertory

Bach Johan Sebastian: Concerto d moll pro dvoje housle (1. věta)
Bruch Max: Kol Nidrei
Finger Gottfried: Triová sonáta F dur
Haydn Josef: Divertimento
Haydn Josef: Londýnské trio č. 1
Händel Georg Friedrich: Předehra k opeře Alcina
Janáček Leoš: Suita pro smyčce
Klein Gideon: Partita pro smyčcový orchestr (1. věta)
Locatelli Pietro Antonio: Concerto grosso c moll
Milčinský Daniel Alois František: Pastorella á 3
Mozart Wolfgang Amadeus: Andante C dur pro flétnu a orchestr
Mysliveček Josef: Divertimento in F
Ryba Jakub Jan: Česká mše vánoční Hej mistře
Stamic Jan Václav: Mannheimská sinfonie č. 3 B dur
Strauss Johann: Růže z jihu
Vivaldi Antonio: Concerto d moll pro housle a orchestr


  • Ing. Jiří Vrbka, artistic director
  • 1. května 122, 692 01 Mikulov
  • Phone: +420 602 395 192
  • e-mail: vrbka.mikulov@seznam.cz